Ashton Celebration DVD

Cat No:
01 - 09 - 2013

Ashton Celebration DVD

Mara Galeazzi, Rupert Pennefather, Emma Maguire, Valentino Zucchetti, Akane Takada, Dawid Trzensimiech, Marianela Nunez, Federico Bonelli, Edward Watson, Tamara Rojo, Christopher Saunders, Sergei Polunin, Gary Avis, Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Emmanuel Plasson (conductor)

This special DVD release is a tribute to the great Frederick Ashton - founder choreographer of The Royal Ballet and one of the 20th Century's most influential choreographers, whose musical, subtle and graceful style and extraordinary gift for storytelling had a profound impact on the development of British ballet. This special program, performed at the Royal Opera House to mark the 25th Anniversary of Ashton's death, presents five works that showcase his astonishing versatility, from compelling abstract ballets - such as the exuberant Voices of Spring and the radically modernist Monotones - to the tragic love story Marguerite and Armand, brought to life with 'performances of heart-wrenching intensity' (The Observer) by Tamara Rojo and Sergei Polunin. Also features the farewell performance of Tamara Rojo (with Sergei Polunin in Marguerite and Armand), at the Royal Opera House before she left to take over at the English National Ballet.

Massenet Meditation from Thais, J Strauss II Voices of Spring, Ashton Monotones I and II, Marguerite and Armand

Running time: 1 hr 37 min
Picture format: PAL 16:9
Sound format: 2.0LPCM + 5.1(5.0) DTS
Subtitles: English
No. of discs: 1 (DVD)

Also available on Blu-ray (OABD7128D)

'[Marguerite and Armand]...a performance of such dramatic intensity that the audience sat in silence, as if afraid to breathe.' (The Daily Telegraph)