Beethoven - The Complete Piano Concertos Set

Cat No:
01 - 03 - 2014

Beethoven - The Complete Piano Concertos Set

Perahia Murray (piano), Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Neville Marriner (conductor)

Pianist Murray Perahia's playing has often been described as aristocratic. There is, however, nothing exclusive, overly intellectual or unduly academic about his playing. He is, instead, renowned for his commanding vision, supremely polished virtuosity, luminous intelligence, poetic sensitivity and an ability to embrace equally the lyric and epic - in short, for his superb ability as a musical communicator of the highest order. His interpretations of Beethoven's piano music exhibit formal balance, crystalline textures, eloquent phrasing, an unfailingly beautiful tone and spacious grasp of large scale structure - all of which are simply essential to the Viennese master's intensely personal yet universal musical legacy, within which his five glorious piano concertos hold an esteemed place. Virtuosic and tender, barnstorming and intimate, revolutionary and thrilling by turns, these mercurial masterpieces seem ever new under Perahia's hands and with the able contribution by the renowned Academy of St Martin in the Fields. Beautifully restored, using the finest state-of-the-art technology, Perahia's classic performances allow us to follow the development of a towering genius as he ushers in the birth of an era.

Beethoven Concerto for Piano and Orchestra - No 1 in C major Op 15, No 2 in B-flat major Op 19, No 3 in C minor Op 37, No 4 in G major Op 58, No 5 in E-flat major Op 73 'Emperor'

Running Time: 2 hr 56 min
Picture format: 1080i - 4:3
Sound format: PCM Stereo
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
No of discs: 1 (Blu-ray)