Dance And Quartet - Three Ballets by Heinz Spoerli Blu-Ray

Cat No:
01 - 06 - 2013

Dance And Quartet - Three Ballets by Heinz Spoerli Blu-Ray

Zurich Ballet, Hagen String Quartet

The Salzburg Festival presented a unique production in 2012: the renowned Hagen String Quartet appeared together with the Zurich Ballet. The Swiss grand master of dance Heinz Spoerli created three works for his Zurich Ballet set to three of the greatest works of the string-quartet literature: Leos Janacek's string quartet Intimate Letters, Antonin Dvorak's American Quartet and Franz Schubert's string quartet Death and the Maiden. Based in Salzburg, the Hagen String Quartet is highly popular with the public for its high standard of musicality, serious artistic approach and its enthusiastic love of playing. The Hagens do not give themselves airs and graces; instead, an almost tender dedication to the composers is characteristic of their work. This is a triumph on home ground for this renowned ensemble.

Lettres Intimes (Janacek String Quartet No 2 'Intimate Letters') (Dance Soloists: Seh Yun Kim, Arsen Mehrabyan), In Spillville (Dvorak String Quartet in F major Op 96 'American') (Dance Soloists: Sarah-Jane Brodbeck, Tigran Mikayelyan), Der Tod Und Das Madchen (Schubert String Quartet in D minor D810 'Death and the Maiden') (Dance Soloists: Yen Han, Arsen Mehrabyan)

Running Time: 1 hr 34 min

Also available on DVD (101680)