From the New World Blu-Ray

Cat No:
01 - 07 - 2013

From the New World Blu-Ray

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Andris Nelsons (conductor)

It isn't often that a young conductor excites audiences and stirs up critics to the extent that Andris Nelson does. In this case, the young Latvian headed the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, the orchestra of his mentor and fellow countryman Mariss Jansons, in an exciting program that calls for utmost virtuosity as much as poetic zest: 'From The New World' was the motto of this sweeping concert that received rave reviews and cemented Nelson's status as the 'real deal' among up-and-coming conductors. Presenting Dvorak's 'New World' Symphony with other salient works from the 20th and 21st Centuries by Charle Ives, John Adams and Igor Stravinsky, the event is a triumphant showcase of all involved.

Ives The Unanswered Question, Adams Slonimsky's Earbox, Stravinsky Le Chant Du Rossignol, Dvorak Symphony No 9 in E minor Op 95 'From the New World'

Running Time: 1 hr 35 min
Picture format: HD 16:9
Sound format: DTS-HD MA 5.1 / PCM Stereo
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
Booklet notes: English, German, French
No. of Discs: 1 (BD 25)

Also available on DVD (713408)

'Nelsons and the BR musicians uncover an exciting thriller that reaches a boiling point in the Scherzo and Finale' (Suddeutsche Zeitung)
'Highly emotional, passionate, electrifying' (Abendzeitung)
'One rarely experiences such a natural connection between conductor and orchestra' (Stuttgarter Zeitung)