Monteverdi Il Ritorno d'Ulisse In Patria DVD

Cat No:
01 - 08 - 2012

Monteverdi Il Ritorno d'Ulisse In Patria DVD

Vesselina Kasarova (Penelope), Dietrich Henschel (L'humanita Fragilita/Ulisse), Malin Hartelius (Melanto), Jonas Kaufmann (Telemaco), Rudolf Schasching (Iro), Isabel Rey (Minerva/Amorei), Martina Jankova (Fortuna/Giunone), Orchestra La Scintilla of The Zurich Opera House, Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor), Klaus-Michael Gruber (stage director)

Live from Zurich Opera House 2002. Il Ritorno d'Ulisse in Patria is based closely on the final books of Homer's Odyssey and is hailed as the key work marking the threshold between the Renaissance and Baroque periods. Together with producer Klaus Michael Gruber, Nikolaus Harnoncourt strikes a new balance between musical polish and distillation of the essence of dramatic action. 'It is a kind of 'theatre pauvre', which works with a few carefully chosen and powerful symbols', was how the newspaper Neue Zurcher Zeitung reviewed the production. The main action takes place on little more than an angled revolving stage in front of a whitewashed wall which hints at the landscape of a Greek island. The sets have an apt simplicity, eschewing fussy detail and spectacular effects. The colours are cool, predominantly white, blue and black, transporting us to a modern day. Harnoncourt's musical drive has become 'a touch gentler', wrote the Berlin daily Tagesspiegel. 'Not that Harnoncourt is now leaving things to chance or to the discretion of his exquisite musicians. But the way he communicates - his entire rostrum manner - seems to have become more relaxed, calmer, rounder, and both he and the listener are amply rewarded by the sound which results.'

Monteverdi Il ritorno d'Ulisse in patria

Running Time: 1 hr 35 min