Saint-Saens Music for Violin and Piano Vol 2

Cat No:
01 - 09 - 2013

Saint-Saens Music for Violin and Piano Vol 2

Fanny Clamagirand (violin), Vanya Cohen (piano)

Saint-Saens's early unfinished Violin Sonata is testimony to his remarkable precocity as a child. His music's universal appeal is demonstrated in adaptations of his Bach influenced Suite Op 16, the gracious Romance Op 48 and one of his most famous pieces Le cygne (The Swan). The Second Violin Sonata follows classical forms, while the Meditation is notable for an affecting melody that builds beautifully to an intimate conclusion. Acclaim for Fanny Clamagirand's playing includes her 'brilliant advocacy' of Saint-Saens's three Violin Concertos (Strings Magazine). This release brings together versions of works by Saint-Saens which are rarely heard in recordings. Volume 1 in this complete edition was released in April 2013 and has been warmly received by broadcasters and reviewers. German blog The Listener admires how 'the virtuosity of the music is presented seemingly effortlessly by both performers. Especially Fanny Clamagirand never loses her sovereignty or deviates from flawless intonation.' Fanny Clamagirand's following has grown phenomenally since her triumph with Saint-Saens?s Violin Concertos (8572037), 'strongly recommended for its soaring performances...Clamagirand seems to have all the prerequisites for a strong violinistic personality - at least as strong as Grumiaux's or Stern's.' (Fanfare)

Saint-Saens Violin Sonata No 2 in E-flat major Op 102, Suite in D minor Op 16, Romance in C major Op 48, Le Cygne (from Le Carnaval des animaux: XIII), Violin Sonata (unfinished), Meditation

Running Time: 1 hr 7 min