Schoenberg Verklarte Nacht

Cat No:
01 - 09 - 2013

Schoenberg Verklarte Nacht

Fred Sherry String Quartet and Sextet

There are a number of points of similarity between Arnold Schoenberg's String Quartet No 1 Op 7 and Verklarte Nacht (Transfigured Night) Op 4, both technical and structural. They were also important works in the composer's life, Verklarte Nacht being - in his own estimation - the first tone poem ever written for chamber ensemble. Both works provoked scandals but both also pointed the way decisively toward future development, not least the quartet, which was a pivotal composition in Schoenberg's career and one that enshrines an intriguing 'private program'. Verklarte Nacht when performed by a sextet is usually linked with Schoenberg's String Trio, a logical enough coupling. But the focus of this disc is on the links between Verklarte Nacht and the String Quartet No 1. Both are powerful post-Romantic works and are played here by the experienced and highly regarded chamber player Fred Sherry and his quartet and sextet. A pioneer and a visionary in the music world, cellist Fred Sherry has introduced audiences on five continents and all fifty United States to the music of our time through his close association with today's composers.

Schoenberg Verklarte Nacht Op 4, String Quartet No 1 Op 7, Four Canons (from Thirty Canons)

Running Time: 1 hr 17 min