Walcha Organ Works Vol 1

Cat No:
01 - 10 - 2012

Walcha Organ Works Vol 1

Wolfgang Rubsam (organ)

A native of Leipzig and steeped in the musical tradition of JS Bach, Helmut Walcha was one of the most influential organists of the 20th Century. Building on Baroque examples, Walcha started composing the Chorale Preludes during the war years and they became popular teaching pieces as well as ideal vehicles for expressing the clarity and colour of organs both historic and new. As one of Walcha's most renowned students, Wolfgang Rubsam's interpretations are uniquely authoritative. This is the first of four volumes of Walcha's complete Chorale Preludes.

Walcha Chorale Preludes No 1 Nun Komm der Heiden Heiland, No 2 O Heiland reiss die Himmel auf, No 3 Macht hoch die Tur, No 4 Mit Ernst o Menschenkinder, No 5 Gelobet seist du Jesu Christ, No 6 Den die Hirten lobten sehre, No 7 Frohlich soll mein Herze springen, No 8 Zu Bethlehem geboren, No 9 Weicht ihr Berge fallt ihr Hugel, No 10 Herzliebster Jesu was hast du verbrochen, No 11 Erhalt uns Herr bei deinem Wort, No 12 Herr nun selbst den Wagen halt, No 13 Ach Gott vom Himmel sieh darein, No 14 Ein feste Burgist unser Gott, No 15 Ach bleib bei uns Herr Jesu Christ, No 16 Nun freut euch lieben Christen g'mein, No 17 Es ist das Heil uns kommen her, No 18 Ich ruf zu dir Herr Jesu Christ, No 19 Ist Gott fur mich so trete, No 20 Wer nur den lieben Gott lasst walten, No 21 Mitten wir im Leben sind, No 22 Wer weiss wie nahe mir mein Ende, No 23 Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin, No 24 Nun sich der Tag geendet hat, No 25 Morgenglanz der Ewigkeit

Running Time: 67 min

'An instrument perfectly suited in size and tonal quality for this music...If you are a pipe organ music enthusiast looking for something new that is at once a diversion from the norm and yet totally rooted in the last 400 years of music, the organ works of Helmut Walcha are a rewarding experience. Naxos once again enriches our listening experience by presenting us with hitherto unheard music, and great music at that.' (Classical Music Sentinal)
'these varied pieces are skilfully crafted and artfully performed on a versatile and aurally pleasant instrument.' (MusicWeb International)